About us

As a not-for-profit registered Charitable Trust, the OPBG has developed a strategic management plan which requires the dedication and long-term commitment from industry professionals.

The OPBG team is comprised of 8 volunteer Trustees, a contracted Project Manager, a contracted Operations Manager, and several part-time contracted Operations Assistants. The OPBG has one employee, being the Volunteer Coordinator.

Introducing OPBG Trustees

Hoani Langsbury

Chairman Hoani Langsbury

has a Bachelor of Science in Zoology and Ecology, and a Postgraduate Diploma in Science in Geography. Hoani is active on the Otago Peninsula Community Board, Trustee of the Yellow-Eyed Penguin Trust and a Takata Tiaki for the Otago Coastal Marine Area. He is the former chairperson of the Otago Conservation Board and a former member of several national species recovery groups. He is the Manager of Operations Taiaroa Head, he is responsible for the Royal Albatross Centre and Blue Penguins Pukekura.
Brendon Cross

Deputy Chair Brendon Cross

is a sixth-generation farmer on the Otago Peninsula.He has strong rural community networks. Brendon plays a pivotal role in generating landowner support for the project as well as providing active input in the OPBG operations.
David Chalmers

David Chalmers

has a PhD in environmental psychology and has held several research positions in health sciences at the University of Otago. In 1990, he helped establish an injury prevention research unit in the Department of Preventive and Social Medicine, serving as Deputy Director and Associate Professor. He has written two books, over 100 scientific articles and numerous commissioned reports. After retiring in 2010, he and his partner shifted to Macandrew Bay where they are revegetating their 0.8 hectare property in native species. David is an OPBG volunteer, undertaking bird and rodent monitoring, and community trapping. He brings considerable experience as a scientist, project manager and administrator to the Board of Trustees. Dave served as Chairman of the Otago Peninsula Biodiversity Trust from 2016 to 2017.
Bev Dickson

Bev Dickson

has a science background and a keen interest in environmental issues. She worked at the Portobello Marine Laboratory for 35 years where she was manager of the research facility for twenty of those years. Bev also worked for the Otago Regional Council for ten years in a part time role as their Oiled Wildlife Response Co-ordinator. She has extensive experience working in the field, in areas including coastal Otago, Fiordland, Antarctica and Indonesia. Bev has lived on the Peninsula for most of her life and currently lives at Papanui Inlet.
Laurie White

Laurie White

has a hospitality/tourism background. He has lived in Macandrew Bay for many years after returning from working overseas. He has managed an airline catering production kitchen, owned restaurants in partnership with his wife, and created a monthly tourist publication. Fully retired Laurie leads an active life with an interest in the environment, Member of the Dunedin Photographic Society, treasurer of the Otago Alpine Garden Group and treasurer of Save the Otago Peninsula (STOP). Laurie White is the Treasurer of the OPBG.
Marita Eisenlohr

Marita Eisenlohr

has been living on the Peninsula since 2013. She started her involvement with the OPBG looking after a couple of rodent monitoring lines and was then elected as a trustee in 2015. In 2016 she took over the position of secretary when Moira Parker stepped down from that role.
Mark Crawford

Mark Crawford

has over 30 years involved in the farming industry as an advisor, tutor, technical farm rep and fertiliser consultant in Balclutha, Mark shifted to Dunedin 4 years ago to be a Farm Environmental Consultant and currently works at Ravensdown. He and his family live on the Peninsula near Glenfalloch and Mark sees his involvement in the Trust as a way of helping the community with the skills he has developed over his career in Agriculture.

Introducing staff

Nathan McNally


Nathan McNally

OPBG would like to introduce Nathan McNally our new manager. Nathan is originally from Dunedin and studied Marine Science and Zoology at Otago. He has been previously involved with mainly sea lion related work on the Peninsula. He joins us after several years away from the south, most recently based in Whangarei as a Biosecurity Officer for the regional council and a 2.5 years stint on the Falkland Islands where he worked on a wide range of projects such as penguin and albatross monitoring to deploying and retrieving tracking devices. Nathan worked for DOC for several years on the Chatham Islands and Pitt Island, sub-Antarctic Auckland and Campbell Islands and at Macraes Flat. At DOC he was involved in a variety of projects from petrel and black robin translocations, mammal eradications, species monitoring and protection (sea birds, pinnipeds, shore birds, forest birds and skinks), community engagement, island biosecurity. He ran the field component of the successful landscape scale mammal pest control operation Macraes Flat, controlling introduced mammalian pests through trapping, shooting across around 10,000 ha and use of mammal proof exclusion fencing. Nathan joined the project early August and is accompanied by his partner Amélie and new baby Aléric and their springer spaniel Kopi.
Bruce Kyle

Operations Manager

Bruce Kyle

worked at Invermay in the 1980s then at Mt Linton Station for a few years. That was followed by 16 years at DOC, advising Area staff with their pest management programmes. More recently Bruce has worked as a fisheries observer and pest contractor. Bruce has been working for OPBG since 2012, doing both possum control and possum monitoring (follow-up trapping to measure possum abundance).
Marcia Dale

Guardians Volunteer Coordinator

Marcia Dale

Marcia Dale is an ecologist and artist who lives right at the start of the Peninsula in Andersons Bay. She helped set up the bird monitoring in 2011 and has been a volunteer since then. Her previous roles have included track building at DOC, field technician at Landcare Research, Yellow Eyed Penguin guide at Penguin Place and terrestrial ecologist at Ryder Consulting. She is a member of the Sector 5 Guardians and runs a trap line on Chisholm Golf Course.
Nathan McNally

Peninsula Coordinator

Mike Stuart

Mike has been a resident at Harwood for the past 16 years and has worked as a gardener on the Peninsula and Dunedin city for the past ten years. After completing his education in botany, zoology, ecology and marine science at Otago University, Mike spent two years at the Department of Conservation managing the eradication of an introduced seaweed at Stewart Island. This was followed by nine years experience as an environmental consultant working primarily on marine biosecurity and pest management. Mike is excited at the opportunity of engaging with the Peninsula community and supporting volunteer activities toward reaching the OPBG goals of eradicating possums and a Predator Free Peninsula.

Previous Trustees

Rod Morris: Chairman 2017 – 2018; Trustee 2015 – 2017;
Brian Templeton: 2016 – 2018;
Ally Campbell: 2012 – 2018;
Rhys Millar: 2009 – 2018;
Moira Parker: 2008 – 2017; 2018 OPBG Volunteer
Matt Anderson: 2012 – 2016
Ian Turnbull: 2012 - 2015
Bob Morris: 2012 - 2015
Sam Neill: 2009 - 2012
Irene Scurr: 2009 - 2012
Matt Harcombe: 2009 - 2013
Neville Peat: 2009 - 2014
Luke McClelland: 2009 - 2014
Edward Ellison: 2009 - 2014

Scientific Advisors

The OPBG maintains a close relationship to various scientific experts for advice and guidance on a broad range of biodiversity matters and predator control. The OBPG acknowledges their regular assistance and long-term commitment to support our vision.